Gansett Cruises

Customer Reviews

“Great dog-friendly Newport Boat Tour”

★★★★★ – Reviewed October 2, 2017
Gansett Cruises offered the perfect sunset cruise. We read it was dog-friendly so brought our pup along. I knew ahead of time that we would need to stay in the bottom rear of the boat, so no surprises. Turns out, this was a great location to tuck our pup out of the way and enjoy the ride! Great tidbits of info from the guide, excellent service for (cash bar) cocktails, and awesome complimentary Stuffies and Champs toast. Great length (90mins) not too long, not too short. Gorgeous sunset photo ops and great views of the mansions.

“Great way to see Newport”

★★★★★ – Reviewed October 1, 2017
The Gansett Cruise was fantastic. Our guide Johnny was entertaining and knowledgable and Kristen provided great service. Seeing the yachts up close and the mansions and lighthouses from the water is a memorable experience. And the complimentary local favorite beverages are a nice touch. very reasonable price, totally recommended this.

“Great tour of Newport Harbor”

★★★★★ – Reviewed October 1, 2017
The Gansett cruise was one of our favorite parts of our trip. 90 minutes on a nice stable boat with an amusing and informative guide. Fun free refreshments along with a cash bar if you prefer something else. A really great experience. Bring extra layers if it’s chilly as there isn’t much protection from the wind. Easy to book online or by phone. This is not a sailing adventure, it’s a power boat so keep that in mind.

“Fantastic and Fun”

★★★★★ – Reviewed June 2, 2017
Patrick was a great tour guide. I highly recommend it. I’ve been on another boat tour of Newport about 2 years ago with a different company and this one (figuratively) blew it out of the water!

“Enjoyed this dog friendly cruise!”

★★★★★ – Reviewed June 2, 2017
The crew was very friendly and gave us a very enjoyable and informational tour of the harbor. Patrick was a joy to listen to and a wealth of knowledge. Everyone treated our dogs with respect and seemed happy to see them. A lovely experience!

“Do it. You won’t regret it.”

★★★★★ – Reviewed June 2, 2017
Even though it was a brisk evening (we brought a blanket) this was such a good activity. Beverages in board. Complimentary champagne toast and quahog. Staff was excellent and Patrick, the guide, funny and informative. A must do. Pics are mostly of the wharf and boat we rode in.

“Hit the spot”

★★★★★ – Reviewed June 2, 2017
We’ve done several different cruises in Newport over the years and this sunset ride was as good as any of them. A small outfit and they are really putting in a ton of effort to make for a great outing… free champagne toast and stuffies; cash bar with some local craft beer included; fun and relaxed narration with info about Newport I’d never heard. Not to mention the VERY low price. Loved it. Highly recommended.

“Beautiful.. must do”

★★★★★ – Reviewed May 26, 2017
We joined Gansett cruises for their first trip of the 2017 season. It was absolutely beautiful and the staff was so nice. The trip is narrated as the boat travels by the different scenic/historic locations. Loved that it was 90 minutes long; it felt long enough to really relax and enjoy the sites. We would absolutely do this again. Our 12 yr. Old enjoyed it too. You won’t be disappointed!

“Sunset Harbor Tour with Patrick – Informative & Very Humorous”

★★★★★ – Reviewed June 1, 2017
We expected a scenic and informative harbor tour, and got all that and more. Our tour guide Patrick describes himself as a Colorado native and an actor. He was hilarious! He would probably make a good stand-up comic, but in his present capacity he adds humor to all the sites that he points out. For example, when describing the huge cost-overruns that occurred when the Newport-Jamestown bridge was built, he expressed thankfulness – with a straight face – that such poorly run government projects are a thing of the past.

We learned about the history of Fort Adams, several lighthouses, some mansions, and numerous sailing vessels in the harbor. Some of those have won America’s Cup competitions. Also, crew members served delicious stuffed quahogs and champagne during the trip, with other drinks available for cash purchase. With the champagne, Patrick made a toast for one of the on-shore wedding parties that we passed by. This trip is also pet friendly. We brought our dog along, no problem.

We went in a cool evening, but it was still a good trip. If you do likewise, keep the sea breezes in mind and bring warm clothing.

Its Time for you

to Relax & enjoy the view